Campus News Georgia Impact

PSO recognizes five faculty, three staff members with annual awards

Sue Chapman

The Office of the Vice President for Public Service and Outreach will recognize five faculty and three staff members for outstanding service to the state and UGA at the 23rd annual Public Service and Outreach Meeting and Awards Luncheon in April.

Public Service Fellow
Jeff Sanford of the Small Business Development Center will receive the Walter Barnard Hill Distinguished Public Service Fellow Award.

UGA’s highest honor for public service and outreach, the award recognizes sustained, distinguished and superb achievement in university public service that improves the quality of life.

It is named for the chancellor who led UGA from 1899 until his death in 1905.

Sanford is the director of entrepreneurial studies at SBDC, teaches practice management at the College of Veterinary Medicine and consults with veterinarians in Georgia and across the country.

Additionally, Sanford has a joint faculty position in the College of Pharmacy, where he teaches community pharmacy management, manages independent pharmacy rotations and coordinates the National Community Pharmacists Association’s Business Plan Competition.

Hill Award for Achievement
This year, four faculty members and service professionals will receive the Walter Barnard Hill Award for Distinguished Achievement in Public Service and Outreach in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the improvement of the quality of life in Georgia or elsewhere.

This year’s Hill Award recipients are Sue Chapman, Wes Clarke, Stanley Culpepper and Robert Kemerait.

Chapman, coordinator of operations for the Archway Partnership, assists with strategic direction and management of the Archway Partnership for assigned communities, providing technical assistance in group decision making, facilitation and work plan development.

Clarke, a senior faculty member at the Carl Vinson Institute of Government, plays a leading role in extending UGA public service and outreach across Georgia and around the world through his work with state government agencies and international economic and civic leaders.

Culpepper, a professor of crop and soil sciences in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, assists in the sustainability of family farms by helping growers control weeds effectively and economically.

Kemerait, an associate professor in the agricultural and environmental sciences college’s plant pathology department, focuses on disease and nematode management in peanuts, cotton, soybeans and field corn.

Staff Award for Excellence
The Public Service and Outreach Staff Award for Excellence honors outstanding effort and workplace creativity and innovation, and celebrates the achievements of public service and outreach staff. The 2014 recipients are Karen Duncan, Melanie Hardman and Lindsey Parker.

Duncan, a data management specialist at the J.W. Fanning Institute for Leadership Development, provides database management support to the faculty and staff of the Fanning Institute designing, developing and implementing information systems, Web-based surveys and computerized data files.

Hardman, an administrative manager at the Carl Vinson Institute of Government, provides administrative support for the institute’s management team, assists with hundreds of projects a year and oversees the myriad day-to-day tasks required to keep the complex organization functioning.

Parker, who is in his fourth decade of employment with the UGA Marine Extension Service in Brunswick, has been the captain of UGA’s research vessel Georgia Bulldog for more than 32 years.

This year’s award winners will be honored at the 2014 PSO annual meeting and awards luncheon on April 7. To register, visit