Campus News

Reception for new retirees to be held

The Office of the President, the Office of the Provost and the UGA Retirees Association will host a reception April 26 for UGA faculty, staff and administrators who retired between May 2017 and April 2018.

The new retirees, who were mailed invitations to the event, will be presented with certificates thanking them for their service to the university. The annual reception for new retirees is a tradition at UGA that allows retirees to be formally recognized for their service.

“The UGARA Council is grateful for the support of President Jere W. Morehead and Provost Whitten for making this event possible,” said UGARA President Tom Landrum. “This occasion sends a message to UGA retirees that their years of service to UGA are appreciated.”

The keynote speaker for the event will be University System of Georgia Chancellor Steve Wrigley.

Information will be available at the reception about UGARA, which includes all UGA retirees—faculty, staff and administrators—who become members when they officially retire from the University of Georgia. UGARA is governed by a council that consists of elected members who serve three-year terms.

In addition to Landrum, elected council members for 2017-2018 are Nancy McDuff, vice president; Tom Eaton, secretary; Paul Kurtz, treasurer; Mark Eason, immediate past president and USG Retiree Council representative and benefits; Henry Hibbs, receptions; Jim Cobb, communications, Marilyn Huff-Waller and Ruhanna Neal.