Campus News

Recipients for first curriculum internationalization grants selected

The Office of International Education has selected the recipients of its Curriculum Internationalization Grants.

Focused on “internationalization at home,” the grant program seeks to complement UGA’s presence in study abroad through creative approaches to enhance the international content in courses taught on campus.

Chosen by a panel of faculty and staff, the grant recipients, their departments, schools or colleges and projects are:
• Miguel Cabrera and Anish Malladi, crop and soil sciences and horticulture, respectively, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, “Internationalization of a Soil Fertility/Plant Nutrition Course.”
• Maria Navarro, agricultural leadership, education and communication, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, “Millennium Development Goals: Motivating Students to Analyze Issues from Global and Multidisciplinary Perspectives.”
• Deborah J. Tippins and Michael Mueller, mathematics and science education, College of Education, “A Cross-cultural Dialogue on the Environment, Food Equity and Sustainable Science Education.”
• Xiaobai Yao, geography, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, “Interactive Learning of the Real China.”
• Jacqueline E. Mohan, Odum School of Ecology, “Costa Rica Live: Using Interactive Web Technology to Bring the Cloud Forests of San Luis to Athens, Ga.”
• Brian Buck, clinical and administrative pharmacy, College of Pharmacy, “Barriers to and Opportunities for Pharmacy Professionalization in Haiti.”

To build further momentum for campus internationalization, results and findings of these studies will be presented in campus-wide forums and other events in the coming year.

For questions related to the internationalization grants or other international initiatives at UGA, contact Kavita Pandit by email ( or phone [(706) 425-2946].