Campus News

Retired Coca-Cola VP joins Center for Food Safety

Daniel B. Dennison, retired vice-president and director of scientific affairs for the Coca-Cola Company, has joined UGA’s Center for Food Safety.

Dennison will serve as the center’s program coordinator. In this position he will serve as a liaison to the food industry and help develop projects that will be relative to the food industry.

Established in 1993 and located on the UGA Griffin campus, the Center for Food Safety addresses food safety issues, including microbiological concerns, and has strong ties with the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the U.S. Department of Agriculture and many other research groups. CFS research continues to lead to better methods of detecting harmful bacteria in foods and to new advances in reducing foodborne pathogens on meat, poultry and produce.

“We are pleased to have Dr. Dennison join the center’s leadership team,” says Michael Doyle, director of the center. “His knowledge of food safety and security will be invaluable in developing programs for the center that provide greater public health protection.”

An internationally recognized food industry leader, Dennison’s expertise lies in beverage development, food safety, obesity and bioterrorism.

After joining Coca-Cola in 1978, he played a key leadership role in the development and introduction of many products, including Diet Coke and New Coke and the reintroduction of Coca-Cola Classic. He also led the development, integration and coordination of the company’s worldwide research and development function.

Dennison received his master’s degree in chemistry from Furman University and his Ph.D. in food science from Michigan State University. He is a member of the Institute of Food Technologists, the International Society of Beverage Technologists, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Chemical Society.

He is not a newcomer to the UGA Center for Food Safety, having served on the center’s board of advisers since 1995. His appointment begins March 1.