Campus News

Ryan Nesbit, budget director, promoted to new position

Ryan Nesbit

Ryan Nesbit, the university’s budget director, has been promoted to fill a new position in UGA’s Division of Finance and Administration.

Nesbit became senior associate vice president for finance and administration on Oct. 1. He has been associate vice president and budget director since August of 2000.

Nesbit reports to Hank Huckaby, senior vice president for finance and administration, who created the position and announced Nesbit’s promotion. Huckaby said Nesbit has primary responsibility for day-to-day management of all units in the division of finance and administration and also provides leadership for university budget planning and resource ­allocation.

The finance and administration division includes seven departments that manage the university’s fiscal, human and physical resources. Those departments are accounting, budget, environmental safety, facilities planning, human resources, physical plant and administrative and auxiliary services, which includes public safety and security preparedness.

Huckaby said Nesbit also oversees computing efforts that support finance and administration functions, and will be the primary contact between the finance and administration division and UGA’s senior administration.
As budget director, Nesbit had been responsible for the development and management of UGA’s $1.3 billion annual operating budget.

In addition, he had been responsible for developing the university’s annual capital plan, and managing capital project funding for physical plant improvement projects that are being accomplished at UGA facilities throughout the state.

From November 2002 until July 2003, Nesbit and George Stafford, associate vice president for finance and administration, shared Huckaby’s day-to-day duties while Huckaby temporarily served as Georgia’s chief financial officer following Gov. Sonny Perdue’s election.

Nesibt earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from the Citadel and a M.B.A. degree from UGA in 1991.