Campus News

School of Law deanship finalists named

Four finalists for the position of dean of the School of Law will meet with members of the university community in October.

A committee chaired by Svein Øie, dean of the College of Pharmacy, conducted a national search to identify the finalists. The committee was assisted by the UGA Search Group in Human Resources.

Each finalist will make a public presentation in the Larry Walker Room on the fourth floor of Dean Rusk Hall from 12:30-1:30 p.m. The finalists and the dates of their presentations are:

• Peter B. “Bo” Rutledge, holder of the Herman E. Talmadge Chair of Law and associate dean for faculty development in the UGA School of Law, Oct. 6;

• Michael J. Gerhardt, the Samuel Ashe Distinguished Professor of Constitutional Law and director of the Center on Law and Government in the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law, Oct. 13;

• Lonnie T. Brown Jr., holder of the A. Gus Cleveland Distinguished Chair of Legal Ethics and Professionalism and associate dean for academic affairs in the UGA School of Law, Oct. 15; and

• Mark P. McKenna, a professor and associate dean for faculty research and development in the University of Notre Dame Law School, Oct. 21.

The CVs of the finalists, along with their full campus visit itineraries, are at