Campus News

Search begins for journalism dean

Provost Jere Morehead has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of dean of UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.

 Current Dean E. Culpepper “Cully” Clark announced his intention to step down this past spring. He has served as dean since 2006.

“Dean Clark has shown great dedication and foresight in leading the Grady College, and he has devoted his life’s work to the advancement of journalism and mass communication,” Morehead said. “He extended his planned retirement as dean of the Grady College last year, and I appreciate his willingness to continue serving as dean while we undertake a national search for his successor.”

Sheila Allen, dean of UGA’s College of Veterinary Medicine, will chair the search committee. Faculty members on the search committee include Carolina Acosta-Alzuru, Valerie Boyd, Itai Himelboim, Janice Hume, Karen King, William Lee, Horace Newcomb, Tom Reichert and Patricia Thomas.

Brooke Rooks is the staff representative to the committee. Student representatives are Carolyn Crist and Mary Grace Griffin. Alumni members of the committee are Eddie Garrett, Amy Glennon and Swann Seiler.

The committee will be assisted by the UGA Search Group.