Campus News

Search committee formed to identify deanship candidates

Arnett C. Mace Jr., senior vice president for academic affairs, has appointed a 20­-member search committee to identify candidates for the position of dean of the Franklin College of Arts and ­Sciences.

Thomas P. Lauth, dean of the School of Public and International Affairs, will serve as chair of the committee to find a successor to Wyatt Anderson, who will step down in June to return to research and teaching. An authority in genetics and member of the prestigious National Academy of Sciences, Anderson has served as dean of the Franklin College since 1992.

The committee includes members of the university administration as well as faculty, staff and students. Committee members were selected based on recommendations from the Franklin College Senate, the Graduate Student ­Association, the Staff Council and the Student Government ­Association. Shelly Storbeck of A.T. Kearney Inc., a nationally ­recognized search firm specializing in academic searches, will assist the committee. Previously, Storbeck worked with the committees that identified former provost Karen Holbrook and Mace, who succeeded Holbrook.

“Ms. Storbeck and her firm are very familiar with the University of Georgia, and Shelly is highly respected among her peers,” Mace says.

The committee will work with the goal of having a new dean in place by July 1 or the start of the new academic year, according to Mace. The committee held its first meeting Jan. 13.

In addition to Lauth, members of the committee are: Michael W.W. Adams, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology; E.M. Beck, professor of sociology; Peggy Brickman, assistant professor of plant biology; Carmon Colangelo, professor and director of the Lamar Dodd School of Art; Nikkii DuBose, graduate student in genetics; Tom Dyer, professor at the Institute of Higher chair of the Franklin College board of advisors; Brenda Keen, business manager of The Georgia Review; Tricia Lootens, associate professor of English; Laura Mason, associate professor of history; John McDonald, professor of genetics; James McGregor, associate professor of comparative literature; Satya Patel, undergraduate student in biochemistry and molecular biology; Lawrence Peter, accountant in genetics; Gregory Robinson, professor of chemistry; Robert Rumley, professor of mathematics; David Saltz, assistant professor of drama; Ed Sandor, professor of music; and David Williams, professor of religion.