Campus News

Search committee named to fill provost post at UGA

Search committee named to fill provost post at UGA

Athens, Ga. – University of Georgia President Michael F. Adams has appointed a search committee to help choose a successor to Arnett C. Mace Jr., who will retire as senior vice president for academic affairs and provost on Jan. 1, 2010.

William Gray Potter, university librarian and associate provost, will chair the 20-member committee composed of faculty, staff, administrators, students and alumni. The committee will work with a consultant firm to conduct a national search to find a successor to Mace, who announced his retirement in January.

“I am very grateful to Bill Potter for once again agreeing to chair the search committee for a new provost,” said Adams. “A list of top-flight university citizens encompassing a broad scope of university-wide interests has been put together, and I am confident that this group will help us secure a successor to Arnett Mace who is worthy of being provost at the University of Georgia.”

In addition to Potter, who also headed the search committees for Mace and his predecessor Karen Holbrook, other committee members are:

Donna Alvermann, Distinguished Research Professor of language and literacy education in the College of Education; J. Scott Angle, dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Rodney Bennett, vice president for student affairs; Jeffrey Bennetzen, the Norman and Doris Giles/Georgia Research Alliance Professor of molecular genetics in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences; Hank Clay, president of the Graduate Student Association;

Dan Coenen, University Professor and Harmon W. Caldwell Chair in constitutional law in the School of Law; Libby Morris, director of the Institute of Higher Education; Norman Fletcher, a UGA graduate and former chief justice of the Georgia Supreme Court who serves as chair of the Arch Foundation; Lisa Fusillo, associate professor and head of the department of dance; Stuart Ivy, an information technology manager in the College of Veterinary Medicine and president of the Staff Council; Bruce Hollett, associate professor of large animal medicine in the College of Veterinary Medicine and chair of the University Council Executive Committee;

Tricia Kalivoda, associate vice president for public service and outreach; Tom Landrum, senior vice president for external affairs; John Maltese, the Albert Berry Saye Professor and Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor of political science in the School of Public and International Affairs; Connor McCarthy, president of the Student Government Association;

Vasu Nair, the William H. Terry Sr. Professor and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in the College of Pharmacy who also heads the department of pharmaceutical and biomedical sciences and is director of the UGA Center for Drug Discovery; Annette Poulsen, the Augustus H. ABilly@ Sterne Professor and head of the department of banking and finance in the Terry College of Business; Barbara White, the university’s chief information officer and associate provost; and Steve Wrigley, vice president for government relations and director of the Carl Vinson Institute of Government.

Adams said the committee will begin work in the next few weeks with a goal of having the new provost in place by Jan. 1.