Campus News Georgia Impact

National search begins for next PSO vice president

Provost Jere Morehead has appointed a search committee to begin a national search to fill the position of vice president for public service and outreach.

David Lee, vice president for research, will chair the search committee that includes representatives from each of the eight units that report to the vice president for public service and outreach, plus other faculty, staff and student representatives. 

The committee members, besides Lee, are Phaedra Corso, professor and head of the department of health policy and management in the College of Public Health; William Crowe, director of the Georgia Center for Continuing Education Conference Center and Hotel; Mallory Davis, president of the Student Government Association; Dennis Epps, associate director, Carl Vinson Institute of Government; Mel Garber, director of the Archway Partnership; James Jeter, president of Standard Discount Corp. in Moultrie; Maritza Soto Keen, public service associate, Fanning Institute; and Laura Meadows, interim director, Carl Vinson Institute of Government.

Other members include Gwen Moss, administrative financial director in the Office of the Vice President for Public Service and Outreach; Daniel Nadenicek, dean of the College of Environment and Design; Wilf Nicholls, director of the State Botanical Garden of Georgia; Jeffrey Sanford, director of entrepreneurial studies at the Small Business Development Center; Courtney Tobin, assistant director, Fanning Institute; Randal Walker, director of the Marine Extension Service; and Shannon Wilder, director of the Office of Service-Learning.