Campus News

Search underway for VP for marketing, communications

UGA President Jere W. Morehead has appointed a search committee to begin a national search to fill the position of vice president for marketing and communications.

Jennifer Frum, vice president for public service and outreach, will chair the search committee, which includes faculty, administrators, staff, students and alumni. Additional search committee members are:

• Michelle Garfield Cook, associate provost for institutional diversity;

• Charles Davis, dean of the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication;

• Juliett Dinkins, editor of Columns, UGA Public Affairs;

• Kelly Kerner, vice president for development and alumni relations;

• Stefanie Lindquist, dean of the School of Public and International Affairs;

• Charlotte Mason, marketing department head and holder of the C. Herman and Mary Virginia Terry Chair of Business Administration;

• Marie Mize, vice chair of the Staff Council and circulation manager at the King Law Library;

• Kathy Pharr, chief of staff to the president;

• Mike Raeber, executive director of legal affairs;

• Tom Reichert, head of the advertising and public relations department and the UGA Athletic Association Professor of Advertising, Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication;

• Susan Sherman, president of Susan Sherman Inc. and a member of the UGA Foundation Development and Public Affairs Committee;

• Johnelle Simpson, president of the Student Government Association;

• Brock Tessman, associate professor and chair-elect of the executive committee of the University Council; and

• Alan Thomas, associate athletic director for external operations, UGA Athletic Association.

Tom Jackson, who has served as a senior administrator at UGA since 1988 and as vice president for public affairs since 2006, recently announced that he is accepting a new position as heritage communications executive with the University System of Georgia effective Aug. 1.

The vice president for marketing and communications will oversee four departments: news service, publications, broadcast/video/photography and the visitors center as well as WUGA-FM.