Campus News

SPIA professor is UGA’s first SEC Faculty Award recipient

Loch Johnson

Loch Johnson, a faculty member at the School of Public and International Affairs, has been named an inaugural winner of the Southeastern Conference Academic Consortium’s Faculty Achievement Award.

The award honors one professor from each SEC school with a superlative record in both teaching and scholarship who serves as a role model for other faculty members and students. To qualify, an individual’s scholarly contributions must be nationally or internationally recognized as outstanding.

Johnson is Regents Professor of Public and International Affairs and a Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor in SPIA.
“Loch Johnson is recognized as one of the University of Georgia’s most respected and honored professors,” said Provost Jere Morehead. “He has demonstrated a passion for connecting with students as a teacher and mentor and still manages to find new and interesting ways to immerse himself into the life of the university. His track record of embracing ideas and moving initiatives forward from concept to reality is truly remarkable.”

The award comes with a $5,000 honorarium, and recipients become their institution’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. Both honors are the first of their kind in Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

“[Loch Johnson’s] teaching has influenced generations of UGA students, and his research has influenced U.S. public policy in the field of national intelligence and security,” said SPIA Dean Thomas P. Lauth. “This combination of excellence in teaching and research makes him a valued UGA faculty member and an ideal recipient of the inaugural SEC Faculty Achievement Award.”

Said Johnson: “The 12 universities that make up the SEC already are legendary for their prowess in athletic competition. This new award underscores the fact that these campuses also hold high standards in teaching, research and public service. I feel deeply honored to be one of the first recipients of this award.”

The SEC Professor of the Year Award will be presented in May at the annual SEC spring banquet. The winner will receive an additional $15,000 honorarium.