Campus News

Nine faculty named 2007–2008 service-learning fellows

Nine faculty members have been named 2007-2008 Service-­Learning Fellows.

The Service-Learning Fellows program provides an opportunity for faculty members from a range of disciplines to develop, implement and integrate service-learning into their professional practice.

The 2007–2008 Service-Learning Fellows, their areas and projects are:  Deborah Gonzalez (Fanning Institute), Georgia cultural heritage community service project;  Nik Heynen (geography), the Athens Urban Food Collective;  Jessica Legge Muilenburg (health promotions and behavior), health concerns in Colquitt County; Robert B. Nielsen (housing and consumer economics), research and information needs of a Georgia nonprofit organization; Uttiyo Raychaudhuri (natural resources recreation and tourism), traditional Fijian environmental practice; Leara Rhodes (journalism), eco-­tourism magazine; Peter Smagorinsky (language and literacy education), TAPPP (Teaching as a Principled Practice Project) into the community;  Kathy Thompson (elementary and social studies education), service-­learning in public middle schools; and  Jianfeng Wang (International Center for Democratic Governance), China internship.