Campus News Society & Culture

The DrewJimBrittany party elected to top posts in UGA student government

Athens, Ga. – University of Georgia students have elected the DrewJimBrittany party to the executive branch of the Student Government Association for the 2014-2015 academic year. The party consists of president-elect Drew Jacoby, vice president-elect Jim Thompson, and treasurer-elect Brittany Arnold.

This year, 2,631 students voted in the election.

Jacoby is a rising third-year student from Athens majoring in political science and minoring in philosophy. Thompson is a third-year Honors student from Atlanta pursuing degrees in psychology and public relations with a minor in political science. A Roswell native, Arnold is a second-year student pursuing a degree in business with a pre-medical intent.

The DrewJimBrittany party’s platform focuses on improved accountability, diversity and inclusion, transparency and legislative reform. Platform goals for the coming year include the creation of a student budget under direct SGA voting control to fund initiatives brought forward by senators and constituents; expansion of the university’s study abroad program; and improvement of resources and campus climate for students with mental disabilities.

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA Student Affairs. For more information, see

UGA Student Affairs
The Division of Student Affairs comprises 20 campus departments that enhance the learning environment for students at the University of Georgia by stimulating the learning process, integrating the in-class and out-of-class experiences, promoting an environment conducive to growth and discovery and facilitating intellectual, spiritual, social, occupational, physical, cultural and emotional development. For more information, see