Campus News

Special Collections Libraries Faculty Fellows

Special Collections Libraries Faculty Fellows-h. group
Faculty members

Faculty members, from left, Ben Ehlers, history, Amma Y. Ghartey-Tagoe Kootin, theatre and film studies and the Institute for African American Studies, and Kathleen deMarrais, lifelong education, administration and policy department, look over archival materials in a December workshop for the inaugural Special Collections Libraries Faculty Fellows.

Representing a range of disciplines, the 11 Fellows will participate in workshops and seminars this spring to develop archives-centered courses that they will teach beginning in the fall at the special collections libraries.

The program is a joint effort of the UGA Libraries and the Center for Teaching and Learning to broaden the scope of fields using special collections materials in classes. In addition to Ehlers, Kootin and deMarrais, the other Fellows are Garrison Bickerstaff (Division of Academic Enhancement), Cynthia Camp (English), Brian Drake (history), Hilda Kurtz (geography), Akela Reason (history), Spencer Simril (English and the Division of Academic Enhancement), Kristen Smith (public relations) and M. Montgomery Wolf (history). More information about the program is at