Campus News

Special collections libraries to host faculty open house for anniversary

Fran Teague

The Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries will celebrate its anniversary with an open house for UGA faculty on April 17 from 2-6 p.m.

The open house will spotlight faculty members who have formed innovative collaborations with the special collections libraries and showcase the exhibits and collections of the libraries.

“UGA faculty have integrated special collections holdings and spaces into their teaching in exciting and productive ways during the Russell Building’s first year,” said Toby Graham, deputy university librarian. “We welcome faculty members to the open house to hear examples from their colleagues and to consider how the libraries can help them to enrich their own research and instruction.”

The event will begin with a panel discussion from 2-3 p.m., followed by five breakout sessions from 3-4 p.m. that further explore archivist/faculty partnerships.

The second half of the open house will feature tours of the galleries and 30,000-square-foot collections vault; opportunities to meet staff, ask questions and discuss future collaborations.

Fran Teague, Meigs Professor of English and Theatre and Film Studies; Shane Hamilton, a faculty member in the history department; and Cynthia Dillard, the Mary Frances Early Professor of Teacher Education in the College of Education, will take part in the panel discussion.

Several faculty members will take part in the five breakout sessions. Two sessions begin at 3 p.m.; the final three sessions begin at 3:30 p.m.

Participants, in addition to Teague and Hamilton, are Barbara McCaskill, a faculty member in the English department; special collections archivists Steven Brown and Caroline Killens; Horace Newcomb, Lambdin Kay Chair for the Peabodys and director of the George Foster Peabody Awards; Mary Miller, Peabody Awards Collection Archivist for the Walter J. Brown Media Archives; Brian Drake, a faculty member in the history department; archivist Jill Severn; Charles Barber, head of manuscripts in the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library; Misha Cahnmann-Taylor, a professor of language and literacy education in the College of Education; and Anne Devine, a bibliographic coordinator for rare books in the Hargrett Library.

To attend, UGA faculty and graduate students providing instruction should register online at by April 10.

For more information, contact Jan Levinson, outreach archivist at the Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, by phone at 706-542-5788 or email at