Campus News

Staff Council elects officers for 2012-13


Staff Council recently elected officers for the 2012-2013 academic year. 

Jerry Daniel, an information technology professional with the department of mathematics, has been re-elected chair. Daniel, who has worked at UGA for 11 years, earned a history degree from the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences in 2007.

The council’s vice chair will be Marcus Jennings, an administrative assistant in the Office of Alumni Relations. Jennings began his career at UGA in 1999 as a student worker for the UGA Bookstore. Approaching his 11th year at the university, Jennings also serves on a number of institutional committees.

Kathryn “Kat” Farlowe, an administrative specialist and assistant graduate coordinator for the Master of Nonprofit Organizations and Ph.D. programs in the School of Social Work, will serve as coordinator for Staff Council. Farlowe began her career at UGA in 2000 as the assistant to the dean. 

The recording secretary will be Jon Liston, a carpenter in the Physical Plant. Liston has worked in the construction field for most of his life, as a carpenter, site coordinator, site manager, project manager, home designer and builder. He also taught high school construction trades for 13 years. As a Ph.D. student in workforce education, leadership and social foundations in the College of Education, Liston worked for three years as a graduate teaching assistant.