Campus News

Student affairs honors its staff at annual recognition breakfast

The Division of Student Affairs honored several staff members for their contributions to the division during its annual awards program earlier this semester. Those recognized include Gayle M. Robbins, associate director of counseling and psychological services, who received the Innovative Achievement Award for providing continued initiative for modern advances within the CAPS unit at the University Health Center. She was commended for the many hours she spent learning the new Electronic Medical Record System and for coordinating and providing the training to ensure the smooth and successful implementation of the new system.

The East Campus Village Leadership Team received the Collaborative Teamwork Award within the division for its work with opening a new University Housing facility: East Campus Village. The team oversaw the endless operations details and responsibilities with great ability and seamless collaboration. University Housing Team members on the project were Sammy Cofer, Carla Dennis and Gail Martin.

The second Collaborative Teamwork Award was presented to a group of faculty and staff across the division who demonstrated exemplary collaborative work on the Creswell Hall Learning Communities project. Winners of this award are Sherry Allen, Pratt Cassity, Joe Crim, Jim Day, Christy Desmet, Philip Duhart, Del Dunn, Merrily Dunn, Marcus Fechheimer, Diana Fruth, Michelle Garfield, Janette Hill, Nancy Kropf, Charles Kutal, Jean Martin-Williams, Donna Mitchell, Margaret Robinson, Josh Skillman, Dianne Timm, Sally Watkin and Jan Wheeler.

New this year, the one Unsung Hero Award was presented per department/unit based on the nominations received. The 2005 Unsung Hero Awards were presented to the following division employees: David Anderson, Disability Resource Center; Greg Albanese, Student Activities; Donnie Lee Smith, University Health Center; Barbara Ann Lee, University Housing; and Student Financial Aid’s data entry staff members Karen Eidson, Maxine Myers, Judy Remion and Sarita Wilkes.

Michael Shutt was presented the Lee Anne Seawell Award for Service to Students in recognition of his work as a staff member who has gone above and beyond his job description to reach out to the university’s diverse student population.

“Michael recognized the critical need for a professional to work collaboratively and strategically with our lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, and he has worked hard to offer a safe space for LGBT students at the university” according to the awards committee.