Campus News

Students awarded leadership scholarships

Ten UGA Honors Program students have been awarded William Moore Crane Leadership Scholarships for the 2005-2006 academic year.

Administered by the Honors Program and the Student Leadership Center, the scholarship recognizes third- and fourth-year Honors students who have a demonstrated record of high academic achievement and outstanding leadership.

Named for William Moore Crane, a 1921 cum laude graduate of UGA, the scholarship recognizes students who demonstrate academic success and campus leadership. Crane Leadership Scholars must apply for this award during their junior year. With demonstrated leadership experiences, they can renew the scholarship in their senior year.  

This year’s scholarship recipients are: Westin Amberge, a fourth-year cellular biology and microbiology double major from Blairsville; Hariqbal Basi, a third-year political science, public relations and psychology triple major from Dunwoody;
R. Blake Edwards, a third-year management major from Alpharetta; Katherine Griffith, a third-year Romance languages and anthropology double major from Marietta; Staci Hutsell, a fourth-year double major in cellular biology and biochemistry and molecular biology from Aiken, S.C.; Rachel Jacobs, a fourth-year international business and international affairs double major from Athens; Kurinji Pandiyan, a third-year genetics and cellular biology double major from Chennai, India; Nitin Patel, a fourth-year finance and economics double major from Memphis, Tenn.; Jamie Peper, a third-year finance and international business double major from Savannah;  and Rajesh Shah, a fourth-year honors interdisciplinary studies major from Lawrenceville.