Campus News

Students, staff to be celebrated at BFSO awards ceremony

The Black Faculty and Staff Organization’s 2021 Founders’ Award Scholarship Ceremony will celebrate the achievements of several University of Georgia students and staff on Oct. 21 at noon. This virtual event will include an hour of honoring the organization’s legacy and inspiring the UGA community while uplifting attendees.

The scholarship awards honor full-time UGA students who demonstrate impactful service and leadership in the African American community. Scholarship awards are presented in honor of the BFSO founders, who worked to advance the efforts of BFSO and improve the Black experience on campus.

The 2021 scholarship awardees are:

  • Undergraduate Founders Award: Jaquarius Raglin
  • Professional Founders Award: Tierra Jackson
  • Graduate Founders Award: David Richards
  • Mark Dawkins Leadership Award: Gabriel Smallwood
  • Myron G. Burney Service Award: Kevin C. Nwogu
  • Melanie Burden Community Arts Award: Persia Tillman

UGA staff members are honored with the Ed Wilker Memorial Egalitarian Award, which recognizes the occupational excellence of UGA staff members. The 2021 awardees are Sherkeeca Brown, Human Resources; Shamika Howard, University Housing; Lonette Kelley, Facilities Management; and John Lawrence, Dining Services.

Joni Taylor, 2021 Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year and National Coach of the Year finalist, will serve as the keynote speaker. In addition to her leadership as the head coach for the UGA Lady Bulldogs, Taylor has been heavily involved in the Athens community, creating the award-winning Beyond Basketball—a meeting place for women in Athens to discuss happenings and issues in and around the area.

To reserve a virtual seat, visit