Campus News

Students study, intern in nation’s capital through Washington Semester Program

Sixteen UGA students are participating in the Washington Semester Program this fall, spending the semester in the nation’s capital completing coursework and internships in business, government and public policy.

Open to all eligible UGA undergraduates, the Washington Semester Program was established under the auspices of the Office of the Vice President for Instruction in spring 2008. Features of the program include internship experience in congressional offices, nonprofit organizations and think tanks, and a variety of cultural and professional networking opportunities.

“The Washington Semester Program is a unique learning opportunity for our students,” said Laura Dunn Jolly, vice president for instruction. “Engaging with alumni, working with national leaders and gaining professional experience prepares them for the future.”

Participants earn at least 12 credit hours, six of which include a special topics course whose focus changes every semester, and a seminar on life, work and culture in Washington featuring guest lecturers from UGA and the D.C. area. The other credit hours can be applied for directed study, internship and/or research courses through the student’s academic department.

Joel Clark, president and director of domestic programs of Capital Education, will teach the special topics course on ethics, exploring public attempts to reform electoral and political processes at the national level.

The fall 2010 participants with their internship placements are: Laura Arline, Office of Sen. Saxby Chambliss; Mary Carpenter, APCO Worldwide; Elena Gomez, Office of Congressman Jared Polis; René Gregoire, U.S. Department of Education; Jonathan Harrison, Office of Congressman Tom Price; Sara Hendricks, Office of Sen. Johnny Isakson; Caitlyn Livingston, Center for American Progress; Lardycia Manns, Center for American Progress; Linh Phuong Nguyen, Office of Congressman John Barrow; Nicole Piason, Office of Sen. Saxby Chambliss; Breana Pittman, U.S. National Central Bureau of INTERPOL; Diana Silva, Office of Congressman David Scott; Sarah Stormont, Office of Sen. Johnny Isakson; Tess Vincent, Smithsonian American Art Museum; William Westbrook, Office of Congressman Lynn Westmoreland; and Elizabeth Wood, Amnesty International.