Campus News

Task force will examine enrollment targets

An advisory task force is working on five-year enrollment strategies that will recommend to UGA’s provost enrollment targets for undergraduate and graduate students and define necessary facilities and resources to serve those students.

Provost Arnett C. Mace Jr. appointed the 12-member task force to examine enrollment for both undergraduate and graduate students at the main UGA campus in Athens as well as UGA centers in Tifton, Griffin and at Georgia Gwinnett College.

Last fall UGA enrolled a total of 33,660 students, the second-­highest in its history. Typically 12,000 to 13,000 high school graduates apply to UGA each year and between 4,000 to 5,000 enroll. The university usually also enrolls between 1,000-2,000 transfer students each fall.

“It is vital that the university develop enrollment strategies for the next three to five years, given the very heavy demand for admission and the need for allocation of resources to those units with the largest enrollment or course offering,” Mace said.

The advisory group will examine alternative five-year enrollment targets for the Athens campus for undergraduates, including those from Georgia and other states, and for graduate and professional students. The group also will examine targets for ­undergraduate, graduate and professional students at the off-campus centers.

Mace asked the group to suggest strategies to recruit the targeted number of students, to define facilities needed to accommodate the targets and to define additional funding and support services necessary to meet the targets. The task force also will look at the number of faculty, staff and graduate assistants needed to serve the targets, including the balance between faculty who are tenured or are on tenure track and those who teach under a contract with the university.

Jere Morehead, vice provost for academic affairs, is chair of the task force. Other members are Pat Daugherty, associate dean associate dean for campus life; Craig Edelbrock, associate dean of the Graduate School; Cynthia Hoke, news service director; Rob Hoyt, head of the department of insurance, legal studies and real estate in the Terry College of Business; Tom Lauth, dean of the School of Public and International Affairs; Nancy McDuff, associate vice president for admissions and enrollment management; Christina Miller, associate provost for academic fiscal affairs; Ryan Nesbit, senior associate vice president for finance and administration; Danny Sniff, associate vice president for facilities planning; Garnett Stokes, dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences; and Patrick Winter, senior associate director of admissions.

The strategies will be received by the provost and forwarded to appropriate administrative and faculty entities for examination prior to the adoption of a three-to-five-year plan.