Campus News

Ten named CURO Honors Scholars

The class of 2020 at UGA includes 10 undergraduate students who have been awarded the CURO Honors Scholarship, the university’s top undergraduate research scholarship. These students are enrolled in UGA’s nationally recognized Honors Program.

The 2016 CURO Honors Scholars, their high schools and hometowns are Ruth Barrow, Clarke Central High School, Athens; Samuel Driggers, Glynn Academy, St. Simons Island; Morgan Geiser, Clarke Central High School, Athens; Stephan George, Brookwood High School, Lawrenceville; Grace Ingham, Edgewood High School, Madison, Wisconsin; Alyssia Mitchell, Spring Valley High School, Blythewood, South Carolina; Rachel Reines, Athens Academy, Athens; Nyree Riley, John S. Davidson Fine Arts School, Hephzibah; Sachi Shastri, Putnam County High School, Eatonton; and Kevin Williams, Fayette County High School, Fayetteville.

CURO Honors Scholars receive $3,000 in annual funding renewable for up to four years; enjoy mentoring and community support; and attend special seminars, workshops, events and activities.