Those who can…teach!

This week’s Faculty Recognition Banquet pays tribute to the outstanding faculty members who are receiving awards for teaching excellence. Recipients of the Josiah Meigs Award, UGA’s highest teaching honor, and the Richard B. Russell Award, which recognizes junior faculty for outstanding teaching, were also introduced for the first time last week at Honors Day.

This year, five of UGA’s outstanding teachers will receive the 2004 Josiah Meigs Awards for Excellence in Teaching. Meigs winners receive a permanent salary increase of $6,000 and a fund of $1,000 for departmental use. The award is named for Josiah Meigs, who in 1801 succeeded Abraham Baldwin as president-and sole professor-of Georgia’s fledgling state university.

This year’s Meigs winners are Corrie Brown, pathology, College of Veterinary Medicine; David Hazinski, telecommunications, Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication; John Maltese, political science, School of Public and International Affairs; Richard Neupert, drama and theatre, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences; and Scott Shaw, physics and astronomy, College of Arts and Sciences.

The Russell Awards are named to honor Georgian and university alumnus Richard B. Russell who had a love for new knowledge and appreciation of our nation’s youth. The awards are meant to recognize excellence in undergraduate instruction.

Awardees receive a $5,000 cash award from the Richard B. Russell Foundation.
The Russell Award will be given to Jody Clay-Warner, sociology, College of Arts and Sciences; Denise Mewborn, mathematics education, College of Education; and Marisa Anne Pagnattaro, insurance, legal studies and real estate, Terry College of Business.