Campus News

Three join Peabody Awards board

UGA has approved the appointment of three new members to the George Foster Peabody Awards Board. Joining other experts who select television and radio’s most coveted prize are Pamela Wallin of New York, Elizabeth Guider of Los Angeles and Thomas Mattia of Atlanta.

In March, Wallin, Guider and Mattia will join other board members in Athens to choose the recipients of the 68th annual Peabody Awards. The recipients are scheduled to be announced April 1.

Wallin is an officer of the Order of Canada, the country’s highest civilian honor. Her career as a journalist, diplomat and entrepreneur has spanned more than 30 years and several continents. In 1992, she became the first Canadian woman to co-anchor the nightly national television newscast, Prime Time News. Author of three best-selling books, she is now the senior adviser on Canada-U.S. relations to the president of the Americas Society and the Council of the Americas in New York.

Guider is the editor of The Hollywood Reporter in Los Angeles and has written about entertainment and media subjects for the past 15 years. She regularly appears on industry panels and belongs to media organizations, including Women in Film and the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.

Mattia will retire in February from his current position as senior vice president for worldwide public affairs and communications for the Coca-Cola Co. Mattia also leads the company’s Public Policy and Corporate Responsibility Council and the Bottler Public Affairs Advisory Board.