Campus News

Top authors to speak on campus at 39th children’s literature conference

Some of the nation’s top authors and illustrators of children’s books will speak during the 39th annual Conference on Children’s Literature Feb. 29–March 1 at the Georgia Center for Continuing Education Conference Center and Hotel.

The conference is a celebration of children’s literature and the culmination of the Georgia Book Awards program that involves thousands of Georgia children in reading.

Leading children’s book authors and illustrators, including winners of the Georgia Children’s Book Award and the Georgia Children’s Picture Storybook Award, are invited each year to the conference to speak and answer audience questions.

This year’s conference features Brian Pinkney, Caldecott Honor Medalist for The Faithful Friend and Duke Ellington; Cynthia Kadohata, winner of the 2005 Newbery Medal for Kira-Kira; Ian Ogilvy, winner of the 2007 Children’s Book Award for Measle and the Wrathmonk; David Wiesner, three-time Caldecott Award winner for Tuesday, The Three Pigs and Flotsam; and Mo Willems, winner of the 2007 Children’s Picture Storybook Award for Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!, a 2004 Caldecott Medal Honor Book.