Campus News

Twelve faculty named 2016-2017 Willson Center Research Fellows

2016-2017 Willson Center Faculty Research Fellows
UGA's 2016-2017 Willson Center Faculty Research Fellows are (from left) Steven Soper

The Willson Center for Humanities and Arts has awarded its 2016-2017 Research Fellowships to 12 members of the UGA faculty in the humanities and arts.

Willson Center Research Fellowships support excellence in arts and humanities research by providing course release from two normally assigned courses in one academic year. These fellowships are funded by the Office of the Vice President for Research and awarded in partnership with the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.

The Willson Center Faculty Research Fellows for 2016-2017 are Yuri Balashov, philosophy; LeAnne Howe, English; Kevin Jones, history; Amma Ghartey-Tagoe Kootin, theatre and film studies and African American studies; Peter Lane, music; John Lowe, English; Barbara McCaskill, English; Cecilia Rodrigues, Romance languages; Amy Ross, geography; Christopher Sieving, theatre and film studies; Steven Soper, history; and Betsy Wright, Romance languages.

“Great students deserve great faculty, and our mission is to build a community of learning that shares the intellectual riches of the university with the people it serves,” said Nicholas Allen, Franklin Professor of English and director of the Willson Center. “You can see evidence of this in our new class of Fellows. I congratulate them and wish them all success in their research during the upcoming academic year.”