Campus News Society & Culture

Twenty-six incoming freshmen receive UGA’s prestigious Foundation Fellowship

Torre Lavelle Truman portrait-v
Torre Lavelle

Athens, Ga. – The class of 2016 at the University of Georgia will include 26 students who have been awarded the Foundation Fellowship, the university’s premier undergraduate scholarship.

The Foundation Fellowship Program provides an array of academic enrichment and extracurricular opportunities to recipients, including international travel-studies, internships and research experiences. Individualized attention and student-faculty interactions are other major components that support the undergraduate community of future scholars and leaders.

The Foundation Fellows are a part of UGA’s academically rigorous Honors Program and participate in program events throughout the academic year, such as dinner seminars in the homes of faculty and special meetings with distinguished visiting speakers. Senior faculty and current Fellows serve as mentors for the new Fellows.

“I am extremely pleased to welcome this stellar group of wonderful individuals to the Foundation Fellowship,” said David S. Williams, associate provost and director of UGA’s Honors Program. “Given their impressive records to date, as well as their exciting array of talents, they are sure to make a very positive impact on our campus and beyond.”

In-state students receive an annual stipend of $10,100 and the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive an annual stipend of $16,800 and out-of-state tuition waivers. In addition to group travel-study experiences, including a Maymester study abroad at Oxford University and three spring trips, Fellows also receive $7,500 in individual travel grants and $1,750 to fund research and academic conference attendance.

The Fellows were chosen from 900 applicants, with finalists invited to a campus interview weekend in February. They participated in faculty-led seminars, social gatherings with current Fellows and a round of interviews with senior faculty, Foundation trustees, Fellows alumni and university staff.

The incoming class average SAT score is 1540 (math and verbal only) and the average ACT score is 35. Their high school grade point average is 4.16 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for advanced placement courses. The Fellows’ high school academic and extracurricular records also are noteworthy.

The Foundation Fellows may renew the scholarship for an additional three years of academic study as long as they maintain a cumulative 3.5 grade point average and are in good standing with the Honors Program.

The Foundation Fellows Program was created in 1972 by the trustees of the University of Georgia Foundation to provide academically outstanding undergraduates with an enriched educational experience. The new group will bring the current number of Fellows to 75.

For more information, see Foundation Fellows.

The 2012 Foundation Fellows, their hometown, high school, parents and URL addresses for individual photographs are listed below.

From Georgia – listed by county

Bibb County

Torre Lavelle/Macon/Mount de Sales Academy/Joe and Angela Lavelle

Bert Thompson/Macon/Stratford Academy/Bert and Cater Thompson

Brooks County

Rand Pope/Barwick/Brookwood School/Edwin and Melissa Pope

Bryan County

Caleb Ingram/Richmond Hill/Richmond Hill High School/Wallace and Fredda Ingram

Sandip Minhas/Richmond Hill/Richmond Hill High School/Arvinder and Jatinder Minhas

Clarke County

Karishma Sriram/Athens/Athens Academy /T.N. Sriram and Vidya Nahar

DeKalb County

Kelsey Lowrey/Dunwoody/Chamblee High School/Michael and Debbie Lowrey

Hannah Reiss/Decatur/Decatur High School/Frank Reiss and Cynthia Smith

Fulton County

Alex Edquist/Alpharetta/Alpharetta High School/Darrell and Sue Edquist

Shaun Kleber/Atlanta/Grady High School/Scott Kleber and Nancy Habif

Eytan Palte/Atlanta /The Weber School/Stephen and Gail Palte

Leighton Rowell/Sandy Springs/North Springs High School/Robert and Jan Rowell

Kevin Sun/Johns Creek/Johns Creek High School/Sonny Sun and Suyu Lin

Treva Tam/Roswell/Blessed Trinity Catholic High School/Hinwai Tam and Becky Yip

Glynn County

John Stroud/St. Simons Island/Glynn Academy/Brad and Melissa Stroud

Gwinnett County

Giovanni Righi/Lawrenceville/Collins Hill High School/Stefano Righi and Umbertina Vezzani

Michael Song/Lawrenceville/Brookwood High School/Inseok and Sajin Song

Chenee Tracey/Lawrenceville/Brookwood High School/Ann Marie Tracey

From Out of State

Caroline Coleman/ Orlando, Fla./William R. Boone High School/John and Linda Coleman

Lee Folk/Nashville, Tenn./Ensworth High School/Ben and Laura Folk

Kirstie Hostetter/Collierville, Tenn./Houston High School/Leonard and Denise Hostetter

Christopher Lewitzke/Third Lake, Ill./Grayslake North High School/Keith and Pam Lewitzke

Katie Lovejoy/Charlotte, N.C./Myers Park High School/Ralph and Carolyn Lovejoy

Caroline Moore/Myrtle Beach, S.C./Socastee High School/Raymond and Jennifer Moore

Meredith Paker/Madison, Wis./James Madison High School/Kenneth and Marianne Paker

Madison Snelling/Lexington, Ky./Henry Clay High School/Barry and Laurel Snelling