Two GA educators recognized by UGA ed leadership program

Two Georgia educators recognized by UGA ed leadership program

Athens, Ga. – Two Georgia education professionals and two doctoral students in the University of Georgia’s College of Education were recently recognized by the college’s educational administration and policy program.

Sally Zepeda, a professor and graduate coordinator in the department of lifelong education, administration and policy, received the 2008 Johnnye V. Cox Award.

Zepeda received the 2007 Ira E. Aaron Award for Teaching Excellence and Collegiality and the University Council for Educational Administration’s inaugural Master Professor Award in 2005 for her work as an educational leader and advocate for students, program improvement and research in the field of educational administration and policy.

She is author, co-author or editor of a dozen books and has published more than 30 book chapters and articles in scholarly journals. Zepeda earned her Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction from Loyola University in Chicago.

The Cox award, which recognizes an individual for significant contributions in supervision and leadership, is given in honor of the woman who joined the UGA faculty in 1946 and is considered a trailblazer as one of the most preeminent early supervisionists in the state. Cox retired from UGA in 1971.

Larry Johnson, President of the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders and principal of County Line Elementary School in Barrow County, received the 2008 University Council of Educational Administration Excellence in Educational Leadership Award.

Johnson has been a teacher and administrator in Georgia schools for more than three decades. He earned his Ed.D. in supervision from UGA in 2000.

The University Council for Educational Administration is a consortium of major research universities with doctoral programs in educational leadership and policy.

In addition, two education doctoral students received prestigious scholarships:

– Oksana Parylo received the 2008 Ray E. Bruce Academic Support Award, a $500 annual scholarship for practitioner-scholars studying the theory and application of supervision in schools and school systems.

– Jiang He received the 2008 Carroll Wade McGuffey Scholarship, a $1,000 award to a student researching the impact of school environment on teacher behavior, pupil behavior and pupil learning.