Campus News

UGA to remember 40 students, faculty and staff at memorial ceremony

2015 Campus memorial candle-h
Twenty-four University of Georgia students

Forty UGA students, faculty and staff who have died since last May will be remembered at the university’s annual candlelight memorial service April 29 at 7 p.m. at the Chapel.

The service, “Georgia Remembers. . . A Candlelight Memorial,” has been held each spring since 2000 to help the university community find comfort while honoring deceased friends, family members and

Twenty-four students, 13 staff members and three faculty members will be remembered in the ceremony. Each name will be read aloud, followed by the toll of a bell and lighting of a candle.

The names will be read by Connor McCarthy, president of the Student Government Association; William Vencill, chair of the University Council Executive Committee; and Shannon Scott, president of Staff Council. Members of the Arch Society will light candles. UGA President Michael F. Adams will make opening remarks and introductions.

Southern Wind Quintet, a student woodwind group from the Hodgson School of Music, will play, and representatives of the Campus Ministry Association will offer opening and closing prayers.

Traditionally, the Chapel Bell is rung at this service, but since it is unavailable due to repairs, the large bell from the plaza in front of Snelling Dining Hall will be moved to the Chapel for the service, then returned to Snelling.

Students, their years, majors (if available) and hometowns whose names will be read are:

Madeline J. Chirico, incoming freshman, Stockbridge; Omotola Aderibigbe, incoming freshman, Atlanta; Matthew E. Lewis, junior majoring in management, Lawrenceville; Tammy Nhu, first-year pharmacy student, Tifton; Jane H. Davis, graduate student in French, Decatur; Rebekah A. Rogers, sophomore wildlife major, St. Simons Island; Dylan R. Kaufman, junior finance major, Atlanta; Danielle J. Dieteman, freshman majoring in animal health, Millen; Adelina R. Martin, graduate student in Spanish, Milledgeville; Leslie D. Brown, graduate student in mathematics education, Elberton; Zachary B. Rose, freshman, St. Simons Island; Israel S. Tyree, graduate student in public health, Athens; Aaron B. Reynolds, sophomore pre-business major, Midland; Meredith H. Jones, graduate student in music education, Athens; Michael J. Hendrickson, senior majoring in recreation and leisure studies, Martinez; Andrew T. Mason, graduate student in instructional technology, Columbus; Cayle R. Bywater, graduate student majoring in internet technology, Athens; Joshua D. Willis, junior speech communication major, Americus; Russell Anderson, forestry major, of Waynesboro; Katherine I. Kerstetter, graduate student in recreation and leisure studies, Peabody, Mass.; Robert W. Farrar, freshman from Apex, N.C.; Bijalkumar (Bijal) P. Patel, graduate student in microbiology, Bronx, N.Y.; Andrea N. King, senior majoring in entomology, Fernandina Beach, Fla.; and Tierra S. Bardley, freshman pre-nursing major, Marietta.

Faculty and staff whose names will be read are:

Rachel C. Dunn, Physical Plant; David E. Galewski, associate professor of mathematics; Yvonne C. Ivie, campus transit; Paul D. Winne, Physical Plant; Walter G. Barefoot, procurement; Eddie H. Hunter, EITS; Brenna J. Garrison, external affairs; Andrew J. Permar, Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication; Jonathan O. Askew, Physical Plant; Andrew Ladis, professor of art history; Jessie E. Ancayan, food services; Chor P. Lo, professor of geography; Edward J. Hull, food services; Watson Jones, Physical Plant; Paul Vendrell, feed and environmental water lab; and Sandra White, Physical Plant.