UGA announces 2007-2008 Service-Learning Fellows

UGA announces 2007-2008 Service-Learning Fellows

Athens, Ga. – Nine University of Georgia faculty members have been named 2007-2008 Service-Learning Fellows.

The Service-Learning Fellows program, now entering its third year, provides an opportunity for faculty members from a broad range of disciplines to develop, implement and integrate service-learning into their professional practice. Fellows, who meet regularly throughout the academic year, also receive an award of up to $2,500 for developing a proposed service-learning project.

The 2007-2008 Service-Learning Fellows, their areas and projects are:

•Deborah Gonzalez (Fanning Institute), Georgia cultural heritage community service project;

•Nik Heynen (geography), the Athens Urban Food Collective;

•Jessica Legge Muilenburg (health promotions and behavior), health concerns in Colquitt County;

•Robert B. Nielsen (housing and consumer economics), research and information needs of a Georgia non-profit organization;

•Uttiyo Raychaudhuri (natural resources recreation and tourism), traditional Fijian environmental practice;

•Leara Rhodes (journalism), eco-tourism magazine;

•Peter Smagorinsky (language and literacy education), TAPPP (Teaching as a Principled Practice Project) into the community;

•Kathy Thompson (elementary and social studies education), service-learning in public middle schools; and

•Jianfeng Wang (International Center for Democratic Governance), China internship.

Academic service-learning is a course-based, credit-bearing educational experience in which students participate in an organized activity that meets identified community needs. The Office of Service-Learning is jointly supported by the Offices of the Vice President for Instruction and the Vice President for Public Service and Outreach.