UGA announces 2009 Foundation Fellows

University of Georgia announces 2009 Foundation Fellows

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia has awarded the Foundation Fellowship, UGA’s premier undergraduate fellowship, to 11 incoming first-year students who exemplify the qualities of outstanding future leaders and scholars.

The Foundation Fellowship provides in-state students an annual stipend of $9,000 in addition to the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive $14,700 in annual scholarships and tuition waivers.

“Once more, I am pleased to welcome into the Foundation Fellowship a very impressive group of students,” said David S. Williams, director of UGA’s Honors Program. “In addition to their academic strengths, they have a wide range of talents and interests. I can’t wait to get started working with them.”

The award also includes opportunities to participate in international travel-study, research conferences, internships and public service projects. Previous students have studied abroad, conducted research and completed public service all over the world, including Tanzania, India, Greece, Ghana, Antarctica and Mongolia.

The scholarship recipients are enrolled in UGA’s academically rigorous Honors Program. Each Fellow receives individual attention and support from a senior faculty mentor and a current Foundation Fellow. During the academic year, Foundation Fellows participate in academic and cultural events such as dinner seminars in the homes of faculty and special meetings with distinguished visiting speakers.

The Fellows were chosen from over 1,100 applicants. Finalists attended an interview weekend on campus last February, participating in faculty-led seminars, social gatherings with current Fellows, and a round of interviews with senior faculty, Foundation trustees, Fellows alumni, and university staff.

The 2009 recipients have an average SAT score of 1524. Their average grade point average is 4.11 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for Advanced Placement courses. Their high school academic and extracurricular records are also impressive.

The fellowships are renewable for an additional three years as long as the students maintain a cumulative 3.5 grade point average and are in good standing with the Honors Program.

The Foundation Fellows program was created in 1972 by the trustees of the University of Georgia Foundation to provide academically outstanding undergraduates with an enriched educational experience. The 11 first-year students will bring the current number of Fellows to 78.

For more information on UGA’s Foundation Fellows program, see http://www.uga.edu/honors/fellows.

The 2009 Foundation Fellows are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parent(s)

From Georgia

Bacon County

Lawrence William White / Alma / Bacon County High School / Lawrence White & LaGena White

Camden County

Megan Nicole Unger / St. Marys / Camden County High School / Thomas & Pamela Unger

Clarke County
Sara De La Torre Beron / Athens / Clarke Central High School / Rafael De La Torre & Constanza Beron

Cobb County

Addison Von Wright / Marietta / Lassiter High School / William & Shireen Wright

Decatur County

Reuben Arthur Reynolds / Bainbridge / Bainbridge High School / John & Jean Reynolds

Fulton County

Bethany Cotten McCain / Alpharetta / Northview High School / Stephen & Linda McCain

Ryan Patrick McLynn / Alpharetta / Northview High School / Dennis & Margaret McLynn

Derek Anthony Ponticelli / Roswell / Alan C. Pope High School / Stephen & Karen Ponticelli

From Out-of-State

Todd Warren Pierson / Zionsville, Ind. / Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School / Jeffrey & Claudia Pierson

Matthew Wyatt Saltz / Baton Rouge, La. / Episcopal High School / Louis & Brenda Saltz

Brittany Anne Young / Lewisville, Texas / Lewisville High School / Dan & Teresa Young