Campus News

UGA announces 2010 Harris Scholarship recipients

Athens, Ga. – Twelve University of Georgia incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the Harris Scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The highly competitive merit scholarship recognizes a limited number of outstanding graduates who attended a public or private high school in Athens-Clarke County. The recipients, who receive $1,000 per year, must have stellar academic records and demonstrate exceptional potential in leadership and community service activities.

The award can be renewed for an additional three years if the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

The 2010 Harris Scholarship recipients (listed by high school) are:

Name / Hometown / Parent(s)

Athens Christian School

Benjamin Hill / Athens / Steven and Lorraine Hill

Seth Horton / Hoschton / Dennis and Marchele Horton

Cedar Shoals High School

Graham Jarboe / Athens / Tim and Heather Jarboe

Rebeca Ontaneda / Athens / Rodrigo Ontaneda and Rebeca Justicia

Agata Rzucidlo / Athens / Jack and Dorota Rzucidlo

Clarke Central High School

Daniel DeSimone / Athens / Leslie DeSimone

Rachel Grossman / Athens / Gary and Barbara Grossman

Kaitlin Kasay / Athens / John Paul and Susan Kasay

Alexander Schilbrack-Cole / Athens / Teri Cole-Smith and Kevin Schilbrack

Aubery Swinford / Athens / Wayne and Susan Swinford

Monsignor Donovan Catholic High School

Erin Curtis / Athens / Mark and Melissa Curtis

Wendy Hanna / Athens / Mark and Julie Hanna

For general information on scholarships, see