UGA awards 2008 Foundation Fellowships

University of Georgia awards 2008 Foundation Fellowships

Athens, Ga. – The class of 2012 at the University of Georgia includes 22 Foundation Fellows who exemplify the qualities of outstanding future leaders and scholars.

The Foundation Fellowship, UGA’s premier undergraduate scholarship, provides in-state students an annual stipend of $9,000 in addition to the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive $14,500 in annual scholarships and tuition waivers.

“Once again, we are pleased to have a stellar group of students joining the Foundation Fellowship,” said David S. Williams, director of UGA’s Honors Program. “We look forward to helping them take full advantage of the marvelous resources available to them both on and off campus so that they can reach and surpass their individual goals.”

The award also includes opportunities to participate in international travel-study, research conferences, internships and public service projects. Previous students have studied abroad, conducted research and completed public service all over the world, including Namibia, Peru, India and Russia.

The scholarship recipients are enrolled in UGA’s academically rigorous Honors Program. Each Fellow receives individual attention and support from a senior faculty mentor and a current Foundation Fellow. During the academic year, Foundation Fellows participate in academic and cultural events such as dinner seminars in the homes of faculty and special meetings with distinguished visiting speakers.

Selection for the Foundation Fellowship is a highly coveted honor. The average SAT/ACT score for the class of 2012 is 1522/34. The average grade point average is 4.17 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for advanced placement courses. Their high school academic and extracurricular records are similarly remarkable.

The Fellows were chosen from nearly 1,000 applicants and 69 finalists who attended an interview weekend on campus in February. The finalists participated in faculty-led seminars, social gatherings with current Fellows, and a round of interviews with senior faculty, foundation trustees, Fellows alumni, and admissions and student affairs staff.

The fellowships are renewable for an additional three years as long as the students maintain a cumulative 3.5 grade point average and are in good standing with the Honors Program.

The Foundation Fellows program was created in 1972 by the trustees of the University of Georgia Foundation to provide academically outstanding undergraduates with an enriched educational experience. The 22 freshmen will bring the current number of Fellows to 89.

For more information on UGA’s Foundation Fellows program, visit http://www.uga.edu/honors/fellows.

The 2008 Foundation Fellows are:

From Georgia
Name, Hometown, High School, Parent(s)

Cherokee County
Tatum Mortimer, Waleska, Cherokee High School, Edward & Susan Mortimer
Cobb County
Patrick Fitzmaurice Jr., Marietta, The Lovett School, Patrick & Donna Fitzmaurice
Hillary Kingsley, Marietta, Alan C. Pope High School, Thomas & Christine Kingsley
Logan Krusac , Acworth, Campbell High School, Dennis Krusac & Mary Jo Alexander
Morgann Lyles, Roswell, The Westminster Schools, Michael & Marsha Lyles
Saptarsi Mukhopadhyay, Marietta, Lassiter High School, Satya & Mita Mukhopadhyay
Henry Schwartz, Marietta, Woodward Academy, Herbert & Kathy Schwartz

DeKalb County
Juan Cardoza-Oquendo, Decatur, Decatur High School, Carlos Cardoza-Orlandi & Aida Oquendo-Graulau
Joshua Gloster, Stone Mountain, Chamblee High School, Glenn & Julienne Gloster

Dougherty County
William Stephenson, Albany, Deerfield-Windsor School, John & Nancy Stephenson

Forsyth County
Bryn Murphy, Suwanee, South Forsyth High School, Thomas & Julie Murphy

Fulton County
Juliet Allan, Atlanta, The Westminster Schools, John & Juliet Allan
Thomas Ward, Atlanta, Marist School, Mark & Margaret Ward

Gilmer County
Luke Mosley, Ellijay, Gilmer High School, Tim & Sharon Mosley

Gordon County
Dana Higgins, Adairsville, Calhoun High School, David & Annette Higgins

Morgan County
Arthur Booker, Madison, Morgan County High School, Arthur & Luz Booker

Oconee County
Joseph Stunzi, Watkinsville, Clarke Central High School, Joe & Wendi Stunzi

From Out-of-State
Jaime Ayers, Tampa, Fla., Berkeley Preparatory School, Marc & Sandy Ayers
Sara Gruner, Gig Harbor, Wash., Gig Harbor High School, Glenn & Pamela Gruner
Anuj Shukla, Cordova, Tenn., White Station High School, Atul & Krisha Shukla
Hemali Vin, Export, Pa., Franklin Regional High School, Prakash & Vishakha Vin
David Zweig, Fayetteville, Ark., Fayetteville High School, Philip Zweig & Carol Reeves