UGA awards 2008 Georgia Incentive Scholarships

University of Georgia awards 2008 Georgia Incentive Scholarships

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Office of Undergraduate Admissions has awarded Georgia Incentive Scholarships to 22 incoming freshmen.

The award provides $1,000 per year in addition to the HOPE scholarship to students with stellar academic and extracurricular records from high schools that historically have been under-represented in sending students to UGA. This year’s recipients represent the very best of the most talented first-year class in UGA’s history.

Students can renew the scholarship for three additional years of undergraduate study if they meet academic requirements.

For general information on scholarships, see http://www.admissions.uga.edu.

The 2008 Georgia Incentive Scholars are (listed alphabetically by county):

Name, Hometown, High School, Parent(s)

Bibb County
Jarred Moore, Macon, Northeast High School, Margarett Fitzpatrick

Clayton County
Aaron Bynum, Rex, Morrow High School, Aaron & Deana Bynum

Cobb County
Phillip Famber, Mableton, Frederick Douglas High School, Vivian Famber Powell

DeKalb County
Eric Barden, Stone Mountain, Avondale High School, Sheila Florence
Mahlique Mathis, Decatur, Avondale High School, Kimbly Lee

Douglas County
Taniya Harris, Lithia Springs, Frederick Douglas High School, Rodney & Tannis Harris
Micah Williams, Decatur, Columbia High School, Mr. & Mrs. Fred & Laura Williams Jr.
D’Juana Wilson, Decatur, Avondale High School, Mrs. Janet Wilson

Floyd County
Michelle Farrar , Rome , Model High School , Ms. Martha J. Farrar

Fulton County
Jennifer Hendricks, Atlanta , Frederick Douglas High School, Beverly Hendricks
Jessica Stillwell, Atlanta, Southside Comprehensive High School, Kim Smith

Haralson County
Natalie Thomas, Buchanan, Haralson County High School, Mr. & Mrs. Mark & Charlene Thomas

Houston County
Tenisha Peterson, Warner Robins, Northside High School, Beverly Peterson

Jefferson County
Kristy Arrington, Matthews, Jefferson County High School, Mr. & Mrs. Paul Arrington
Christopher Flowers, Stapleton, Jefferson County High School, Mickey Flowers & Rose Smith
Cervantes Lewis, Wadley, Jefferson County High School, Valerie and John Lewis
Rebecca McDowell, Louisville, Jefferson County High School, Mr. & Mrs. Steven M. McDowell
Daniel Newberry, Louisville, Jefferson County High School, Steve Newberry
Taylor Pritchard, Bartow, Jefferson County High School, Dr. & Mrs. Chip Pritchard

Muscogee County
Brandon Sanders, Columbus , George Washington Carver High School, Jacquelyn & Brenjan Sanders
Destinie Smith, Columbus, William Henry Spencer High School, McKinley Parker
Shanise Walker, Columbus, George Washington Carver High School, Ms. Arnesia Barnum