UGA awards 2008 Ramsey Honors Scholarships

University of Georgia awards 2008 Ramsey Honors Scholarships

Athens, Ga. – Thirteen high-achieving incoming freshmen at the University of Georgia have been awarded 2008 Bernard Ramsey Honors Scholarships, one of the university’s most prestigious academic awards.

The scholarships, created by the UGA Foundation trustees in 2000, are named in honor of the university’s most generous individual benefactor, Bernard Ramsey. A 1937 graduate of UGA’s Terry College of Business, Ramsey served as chairman of the board of Merrill Lynch for a number of years.

The award provides additional merit-based aid to the recipients as they pursue their degrees while enrolled in UGA’s academically rigorous Honors Program. In-state students receive an annual stipend of $4,500 along with the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive an annual $7,000 award plus out-of-state tuition waivers. Second- and third-year students in the program also are eligible for a $3,000 travel-study grant for additional educational opportunities.

“We are pleased to welcome our new Ramsey Scholars,” said David S. Williams, director of UGA’s Honors Program. “They have impressive academic credentials and an array of talents, and we look forward to working with them.”

Ramsey Honors Scholars enjoy all the academic and cultural opportunities the Honors Program has to offer. These activities include study abroad programs and one-on-one mentoring relationships with faculty, especially on individual research projects in the students’ respective majors.

The recipients have an average SAT/ACT score of 1522/33. Their average high school grade point average is 4.18 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for advanced placement classes. The students’ academic and extracurricular achievements also are exceptional.

Students may renew the scholarships for an additional three years as long as they maintain a cumulative 3.5 grade point average and are in good standing with the Honors Program.

For more information on UGA’s Ramsey Honors Scholars program, see

The 2008 Ramsey Honors Scholars are:

From Georgia
Name, Hometown, High School, Parent(s)

Bibb County
Victoria Akin, Macon, Mount de Sales Academy, Danny & Chris Akin

Rockdale County
Craig Hayes, Conyers, Salem High School, Tim & Gini Hayes

Gwinnett County
Tiffany Hu, Suwanee, Appleton East High School, Sheng-Hsin Hu & Joyce Hu (Appleton, Wis.)

Cobb County
Aisha Mahmood, Kennesaw, North Cobb High School, Syed & Sayeda Mahmood

Oconee County
Anna Savelle, Watkinsville, Oconee County High School, Tim & Amy Savelle

Houston County
Matthew Sellers, Perry, Perry High School, Richard & Andrea Sellers

Fulton County
Sheila Vedala, Alpharetta, Alpharetta High School, Prasad & Lakshmi Vedala

From Out-of-State
Christopher Floyd, Florence, S.C., South Carolina’s Governors School for Science & Mathematics, Kerry & Georgia Floyd

Stephanie Foster, Milford, Ohio, Milford High School, Ronald Foster & Julia Foster

Samantha Gray, Springfield, Va., Lake Braddock Secondary School, David & Maureen Gray

Whitney Ising, Louisville, Ky., Sacred Heart Academy, Ralph & Gloria Ising

Ryan Sheets, Mobile, Ala., Murphy High School, Randall & Vera Lynn Sheets

Catherine Shonts , Charlotte, N.C., Myers Park High School, Stephen Shonts & Catherine Barnhardt