UGA graduates the best and brightest

UGA will confer degrees on approximately 5,200 undergraduate and graduate students at the spring Commencement ceremonies Friday, May 13. Among the 2011 class are scores of students who are the recipients of such academic honors and achievements as the Rhodes Scholarship, Truman Scholarships, Goldwater Scholarship, Fulbright Fellowships, Udall and Mitchell Scholarships, and many other national academic honors. According to Dr. Michael F. Adams in this year’s Commencement speech, “UGA students can and do compete with the very best that America has to offer, and I am proud of you for that.”

Awards and the student recipients include:

* Boren Scholarship – Rosemary Gay, Neenah Williams
* Merage American Dream Fellowship – Yasmin Yonis
* Goldwater Scholarship – Tori Akin, Michael Burel, Amar Mirza
* Udall Scholarship – Todd Pierson
* Rhodes Scholarship – Tracy Yang
* Gates Cambridge Scholarship – Muktha Natrajan
* Mitchell Scholarship – Betsy Katz (alum)
* Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship – Mimi Ensley, Marc Mitchell (alum)
* DAAD Scholarship (Germany) – Aaron Marshburn
* Rangel Scholarship – Ashley Bartlett
* Chinese Scholarship Council – Ashley Bartlett, Jarred Klorfein

Profiles on these UGA students are available at

In addition to the academic and scholarship awardees, UGA boasted 14 students who maintained a 4.0 grade point average throughout their collegiate career. These students include Rachel Diane Appelbaum, Elliott Boyd Burdette, Mimi Elizabeth Ensley, Emily Catherine First, Kathleen Clare Goodwin, Laura Angelica Hernandez, Carrie Killeen Jensen, Santtu Ilmari Kohonen, Christina Michele Little, Mercy Grace Montgomery, Phillip Charles Mote, Michael James Sapinski, Kimberly Ann Shriver and Andrew David Wesche.