Campus News

UGA remembers those who passed away in last year

The Chapel (Photo by Cydney Bish)

Annual candlelight memorial to be rescheduled for next spring

Twenty-one University of Georgia students, faculty and staff members who died since last April are being recognized and remembered for their contributions to the campus community and beyond. These individuals would have been acknowledged at the annual Georgia Remembers … a Candlelight Memorial at the UGA Chapel. This year’s memorial was suspended in light of the University System of Georgia’s guidance on COVID-19.

These students, faculty and staff members will be recognized as part of the next ceremony in spring 2021; the date of the ceremony will be announced in January.

The students, along with their hometowns and the areas of study they were pursuing, are:

  • Benjamin Lloyd Cloer, a graduate student from Norcross majoring in artificial intelligence
  • Daniel William Dudgeon, a third-year student from Suwanee majoring in management information systems
  • Destiny Anne Long, a second-year student from Washington studying psychology
  • Mackenzie Lorraine Podo, a fourth-year student from Duluth majoring in communication studies
  • Martell Rashea Robinson, a second-year student from Columbus with an undeclared major
  • Drury Anderson Shierling, a third-year student from Leesburg with an intended real estate major
  • Michael Brian Torpy, a first-year student from Decatur majoring in genetics

Faculty and staff, along with the positions they held, are:

  • Leann Birch, professor, College of Family and Consumer Sciences
  • Damaris Corrigan, academic professional, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
  • Cathy Elrod, administrative associate II, Division of Academic Enhancement
  • Lasina Evans, administrative associate I, Department of Greek Life
  • Fontina Fears, administrative manager II, EITS – Telephone Services
  • Karen Fiorvante, data management specialist II, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Eddie Freeman, building services worker II, Facilities Management Division
  • Eleanor Johnson, building services worker II, Facilities Management Division
  • Charles Kutal, professor, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
  • Mary Price, environmental safety coordinator, Marine Institute
  • Marianne Shockley, academic professional, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Rosemary Smith, county extension program assistant, Northwest District – Cooperative Extension
  • Robert Thomas, building services worker I, Facilities Management Division
  • Brent Weatherly, scientific computing professional principal, Complex Carbohydrate Research Center

The candlelight memorial service is coordinated by the department of student care and outreach within UGA Student Affairs.