UGA COE honors five with 2008 Distinguished Alumni Awards

UGA College of Education honors five with 2008 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Athens, Ga. – The College of Education at the University of Georgia honored five graduates for their career achievements and community leadership with distinguished alumni awards at its annual Spring Celebration April 28 at the Georgia Center for Continuing Education Conference Center and Hotel.

Crystal Apple Award

Jacqueline Huffman, marketing education coordinator at North Gwinnett High School in Suwanee, Ga., received the Crystal Apple Award, an honor given to alumni in K-12 education who have made a significant impact on student, school or school district performance.

Huffman (MEd ’94, EdD ’01) was recognized for her creative and effective strategies for preparing her students for work or college. She founded and coaches North Gwinnett’s chapter of Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA), which has been twice awarded Gold Certification.

Huffman was named the 2007-08 Georgia Marketing Teacher of the Year by the Georgia Association for Career and Technical Education and the Georgia Marketing Education Association. She was also North Gwinnett’s 2007-08 Technical Education Teacher of the Year.

Professional Achievement Award

Kathryn “Kat” Shreve, director of education for the American Camp Association (ACA), received the Professional Achievement Award, an honor give to alumni in the midpoint of their careers who have demonstrated significant achievements in their fields.

Shreve (BSEd ’90), of Athens, is a former director of the Athens YWCO Camp for Girls. She is a national trainer for the ACA and the American Red Cross. The ACA-Southeastern honored her with the Distinguished Service Award in 2006.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Kathleen Davis, professor emerita from the University of Tennessee’s department of psychology; Sherman Day, former president of North Georgia College and State University; and Randy Kamphaus, dean of Georgia State University’s College of Education, were recognized with Lifetime Achievement Awards for outstanding success and significant impact in their fields.

Davis (MEd ’64, EdD ’67), of Knoxville, Tenn., was on faculty in UGA’s Counseling Center in the 1960s before being recruited by the University of Tennessee, where she has served for more than three decades. She has been elected treasurer and president of the American Psychology Association’s Division of Counseling Psychology (now Society of Counseling Psychology) and secretary of the Association for Specialists in Group Work of the American Counseling Association.

Davis received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Academy of Counseling Psychology in 2004.

Day (EdD ’67), of Dawsonville, has served as acting president of several Georgia colleges, including Georgia State University, Gordon College, and Bainbridge College. He chaired the Georgia Professional Standards Commission from 1982-1986 and has served on the Carter Center Board and the Martin Luther King Center for Nonviolent Social Change. He is former director of the National Institute of Corrections and assistant director of the U.S. Bureau of Prisons.

Day is currently the co-director of Tsinghai University Summer English Immersion Camp, People’s Republic of China.

Kamphaus (Ph.D. ’83), of Athens, served as head of the UGA College of Education’s department of educational psychology and instructional technology for six years before becoming dean at Georgia State.

While at UGA, Kamphaus was named Distinguished Research Professor in 2004. He also received the College of Education’s Russell H. Yeany Jr. Research Award in 2003. He was elected as a Fellow and president of the APA’s Division of School Psychology in 1995.

Kamphaus is widely known for developing the Behavior Assessment System for Children with colleague Cecil Reynolds (’76 MEd, ’77 EdS, ’78 Ph.D), now a Distinguished Research Scholar at Texas A&M University and a 2005 Lifetime Achievement Alumni Award winner.