Campus News

UGA debate teams win tournament

The Georgia Debate Union, which organizes and fields competitive policy debate teams at UGA, emerged victorious at the 2015 Vanderbilt intercollegiate debate tournament held in Nashville, Tennessee. The tournament featured over 50 teams from nearly 20 colleges and universities. Two teams representing the Georgia Debate Union “closed out” in the finals, meaning they won each respective side of their elimination round brackets and tied for first place at the tournament. Teams from the same school typically do not debate each other.

The team of Tucker Boyce, a junior from Alpharetta, and Nathan Rice, a freshman from Roswell, won every one of its debates at the tournament. Boyce earned first speaker at the tournament, while Rice earned second speaker.

The team of Swapnil Agrawal, a freshman from Chamblee, and Advait Ramanan, a freshman from Columbia, Maryland, won all but one of its debates. Agarwal earned eighth speaker at the tournament, while Ramanan earned ninth speaker.