Campus News

UGA freshman receives 2011 Woodruff Scholarship

Anvita Sangawar, an incoming first-year student at the University of Georgia, has been awarded the Woodruff Scholarship for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Sangawar is from Cumming and graduated from West Forsyth High School. She is the daughter of Pramod Kumar and Arunalata Sangawar.

The scholarship is named in honor of leading business executive and philanthropist George W. Woodruff, who served on the board of directors for the Coca-Cola Company for 49 years. He was a life-long supporter of education and this scholarship recognizes his commitment to UGA.

The award provides $2,000 per year to incoming Honors students with stellar high school academic credentials.

The scholarship can be renewed for an additional three years of undergraduate study if recipients maintain certain academic standards of the Honors Program.

For general information on scholarships, see