UGA geography professor wins top regional honor

UGA geography professor wins top regional honor

Athens, Ga. – Andrew Herod, a professor in the department of geography at the University of Georgia, has been named 2008 winner of the Outstanding Research Award from the Southeastern Division of the Association of American Geographers.

The award was just presented to Herod at the annual meeting of the group held at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Herod received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Bristol, master’s degree from West Virginia University and doctoral degree from Rutgers. This is the latest in a long series of honors for Herod. Among others, he has received the M.G. Michael Award and the Creative Research Medal at UGA, along with the Imogene Okes Research Award from the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education.

In addition to his professorship in geography, Herod is an adjunct professor of anthropology and of international affairs, director of the UGA Paris Study Abroad Program and co-editor of the Geographies of Justice and Social Transformation series for the University of Georgia Press.

He is the author of numerous books, including Geographies of Globalization: A Critical Introduction, which will be released in 2009, and Organizing the Landscape: Geographical Perspectives on Labor Unionism, which was designated as a “breakthrough book” by the magazine Lingua Franca. Herod is also the author of many book chapters and articles in peer-reviewed journals.

As a teacher, he regularly leads classes or seminars in economic geography, contemporary social theory and the history of geographic thought.

The Association of American Geographers (AAG) is a nonprofit scientific and educational society founded in 1904. Its members from more than 60 countries share interests in the theory, methods and practice of geography, which they cultivate through the AAG’s annual meeting, two scholarly journals (Annals of the Association of American Geographers and The Professional Geographer) and the monthly AAG Newsletter.

AAG members are geographers and related professionals who work in the public, private and academic sectors. They work in a wide range of careers, as college instructors, federal, state and local government employees, planners, cartographers, scientists, nonprofit workers and many other professions.

The Southeastern Division of the AAG includes Georgia, Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia and Kentucky.

Herod is the sixth faculty member in the geography department, part of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, to win the award. Earlier recipients include Clifton Pannell, Vernon Meentemeyer, Chor-Pang Lo, Kathleen Parker and Albert Parker.