Campus News

UGA awards Harris Scholarship to 2011 recipients

Athens, Ga. – A number of local students who are incoming freshmen at the University of Georgia have been awarded the Harris Scholarship for the 2011-2012 academic year.

The highly competitive merit award provides $1,000 per year to a limited number of outstanding graduates who attended a public or private high school in Athens-Clarke County. The students must have stellar academic profiles and have demonstrated exceptional potential in leadership and community service activities.

The scholarship can be renewed for an additional three years of undergraduate study if the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

For general information on scholarships, see

The 2011 Harris Scholarship recipients (listed by high school) are:

Name / Hometown / Parents(s)

Cedar Shoals High School

Adam Ansley / Athens / Mrs. Robyn Agee Ansley and the late Mr. Eric Ansley

Julie Anthony / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Mark and Jonie Anthony

Yael Bar-Peled / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Maor and Donna Bar-Peled

Peter Cieszewski / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Chris and Barbara Cieszewski

Rio Crane / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. George and Akemi Crane

Jacob Hollander / Athens / Dr. Barry Hollander and Mrs. Edith Portier Hollander

Amanda Johns / Winterville / Mr. and Mrs. Ross and Teresa Johns

Alexandria Licht / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Valentine Licht

Karis Mahaffey / Winterville / Mr. James Mahaffey and Mrs. Tricia Dove

Adele Meagher / Athens / Mr. Richard Meagher and Ms. Valerie Maples

Maegan Scott / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Leo and Diane Scott

Anders Yount / Statham / Ms. Nicole Yount McLaughlin

Clarke Central High School

Osinachi Anukam / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Raymond and Anthonia Anukam

Ridwan Bhuiyan / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Haider and Sherryann Bhuiyan

Kenneth Booker / Bogart / Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth and Pamela Booker

Kinsey Clark / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Jamie and Laura Clark

Clay Colwell / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Mark and Kathy Colwell

Carmina Escalante / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Cesar and Arlene Escalante

Fakari Gresham / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Fred Gresham

Shekinah Hendry / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Edwin and Valerie Hendry

Michael Holden / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. John and Susan Holden

Jefferson Hopper / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Hopper

Drew Jacoby / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Alan and Tanya Jacoby

Seth Jordan / Athens / Ms. Cary Childre

Jakob Kagel / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Martin and Laura Kagel

Ainsley Liken / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Chris and Fiona Liken

Nicholas Pope / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Roger and Fay Pope

SusanaSoto / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Leobardo and Adela Soto

Brittany Stookey / Winterville / Mr. and Mrs. Jeff Stookey

Abigail Suddreth / Athens / Mr. Kenneth Suddreth and Ms. Peggy Hoard Suddreth

Lisa Traoré / Athens / Karim Traoré Beate Vagt-Traoré

Monsignor Donovan Catholic High School

Abigail Casso / Athens / Mr. and Mrs. Steve Casso

Shelby Jarrett / Nicholson / Mr. and Mrs. Robert Jarrett

Edward Scherer / Bogart / Mr. and Mrs. Kerry and Ann Scherer