Campus News

University will remember 18 deceased students, faculty and staff at candlelight ceremony

Eighteen UGA students, faculty and staff members who have died since May will be remembered at “Georgia Remembers. . . A Candlelight Memorial,” on April 28 at 6 p.m. at the Chapel.

The ceremony, which has been held each spring since 2000, helps the university community find comfort and healing while honoring deceased friends, family members and colleagues, according to Alan Campbell, associate dean for student support.

Nine students and nine faculty and staff members will be remembered in the ceremony. The Chapel bell will toll once as each name is read aloud, and a candle for each person will be lit by members of the Arch Society.  The names will be read by Jamie Peper, president of the Student Government Association; Susan Mattern-Parkes, chair-elect of the University Council Executive Committee; and Robert Ratajczak, chair of Staff Council.

UGA President Michael F. Adams will make opening remarks and introductions. Southern Wind, a student woodwind group from the Hugh Hodgson School of Music, will play. Representatives from the Campus Ministry Association will offer opening and closing prayers.

Faculty and staff whose names will be read include Janet Bond, education program specialist, Terry College of Business; Larry Lankford, horticulture assistant, horticulture; Charlene Givens Brown, utility worker  (Red Clay Café), food services; Michael Miller III, parking services monitor, parking services; Jeffrey Harrison, building services supervisor, physical plant; Mary Deirdre Duncan, research technician III, horticulture research; Sally Park, academic adviser, College of Education (math education); Betty Williams, administrative associate I, Small Business Development Center; and George Strobel, associate professor, physics and astronomy.

Students whose names will be read include Avinash Sujan, a doctoral student in biochemistry and molecular biology from Bombay, India; Jeremy Harden, a law student from Germantown, Tenn.; Muhammad “Ebad” Hasan, a junior biology major from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia; Imran Khan, a sophomore microbiology major from Martinez; Martin Holubar, a freshman drama major from Acworth; Ryan Pilgrim, a sophomore undeclared major from Lawrenceville; Lewis Fish, a freshman pre-business major from Atlanta; Andres Mejia, a senior international affairs major from Atlanta; and Kathryn “Katie” Lindsley, a post-baccalaureate student in art history from Manassas, Va.