Vandergrift receives UGA COE’s 2008 Staff Award for Excellence

Vandergrift receives UGA College of Education’s 2008 Staff Award for Excellence

Athens, Ga. – Nancy Vandergrift, program coordinator for the northeast Georgia Partnership for Reform in Science and Mathematics, has received the University of Georgia College of Education’s 2008 Staff Award for Excellence.

Vandergrift, a resident of Bowman, was presented a plaque and a $1,200 cash award in ceremonies April 4 at River’s Crossing. First runner-up, Troy Bassett, grants technology support specialist in the Office of the Associate Dean for Research and External Affairs, was awarded $750, and second runner-up, Andrew Garber, business manager II in the business office, received $300.

Faculty and staff members describe Vandergrift as a highly competent, professional and capable member of the college’s staff. She is lauded for her strong work ethic and extensive community involvement.

Fellow PRISM program coordinator Sandy Blount describes Vandergrift as “one of the most capable professionals with whom I have worked, and certainly one of the most compassionate and selfless people that I have ever known.”

Michael Padilla, director of Clemson University’s Eugene T. Moore School of Education and former director of the UGA Center for Educator Partnerships, said, “Nancy cares about the college and the university; she cares about the public schools, the community, and children…Simply put, she is the best of the employees that the University of Georgia could have.”

Bassett, of Bogart, has been a staff member in the dean’s office since 1996. He was praised for his resourcefulness and problem-solving skills, especially in the area of technology.

Garber, of Statham, who recently moved to the business office from the department of counseling and human development services, was commended for his positive attitude, diligent work habits and strong desire to learn.

The three finalists were selected from a list of eight nominees that included Tammy Bridges, Teresa Melton, Helen Rogers, Demetrius Smith and Margaret Turner.

In addition to the Staff Awards for Excellence, several staff members were recognized for years of service to the college. They included Lauren Barrett, Anna Durden, Patricia Huberty, Julie Range, and Lisa Ward — 5 years; Candace Langford, 10 years; Paula Alexander, Nancy Dellaria, Alan Hinson and Elaine Payne — 15 years; Shirley Anderson, Dianne Parham, and Marlee McKinney-Stewart — 20 years; Brenda Arnold — 25 years; and Joan Taylor — 35 years.